To Love At All

tumblr_inline_npaeugzniH1qaug01_500

I woke up this morning with wanting to hide from just about everyone. That doesn’t happen quite as often as it used to; but it happened today nonetheless. Sitting across from a friend during lunch, I was reminded that true intimacy in relationships are cultivated when you are seen, not hidden.

I reminded myself that to love at all is to sacrifice the need to hide and, instead, be seen. And I’m not sure if it was because I had finished eating and no longer need food, or if it was the presence of a most gracious friend, but I watched my need to hide disintegrate, because I chose to be seen instead.

After all, “to love at all is to be vulnerable.”

So, here I am.

Leave a Reply

